Altered Notebook Cover

Hello crafters! It’s Smitha here with a fun altered notebook idea! For the month of August, I am going to try and maintain a 30 days of happiness book, and I will show you how I created this book cover today!

Supplies used:

I started by trimming my paper down to a smaller size using the Tim Holtz shears. I am using a collection of pretty patterned papers here and I cut them down to smaller shapes and adhered them onto the book cover.

I chose a bunch of dies to die cut delicate paper patterns from some bright colored cardstocks. I love how pretty these papers look! I won’t be using the whole die cut on this book alone, but when I have my die cut machine out I like to cut a few of each design to keep on hand for future crafting.

I then trimmed and adhered bits of the die cut designs onto the book cover next.

Next, I added a few stickers I had on top. While my book cover isn’t a mixed media one today, if you want to you can add some Nuvo drops or embellishment mousse to bring more color and drama here.

I finally lettered my book title “30 days of Happiness” and also went ahead and added a little journaling too. And that completes my book cover! Do you alter your books to suit your style? Let me know in the comments below!

Happy Crafting!

2 thoughts on “Altered Notebook Cover

  1. This is beautiful Smitha! Love the die cuts you have used. So pretty. I have never altered book covers. I planned to alter the cover of a scrapbook for my daughter (she’s 3.5 yrs now) when she was born 😉 I’m happy to say I’m seeing light at the end of the tunnel now 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

