DIY Embellished Gift Bags

When embellishing gift bags, I like to keep it simple but the end result still needs to add a little drama. Because if you are decorating gift bags for a party, you will have a bunch of them to make and keeping the process simple speeds things along. Using the Layering Butterfly die set is perfect for such occasions!

butterfly_gift_bags

Supplies used:

I start by die cutting butterflies using the Layering Butterfly die set. When I have my Tangerine Machine out I like to die cut more than I need for a project, that way I always have a few extra beautiful die cuts to make a quick matching tag or card.

layering_butterflies

Now comes the easy part. Simple adhere the butterflies one atop another and to create a stunning dimensional butterfly! I love how easy it is to make these!

embellished_gift_bags

As a final touch, I used Nuvo Crystal Drops Gloss to add small tiny circles in the centre of each butterfly. And the bags are ready for the guests!

nuvo_glitter_drops

Another way to add these butterflies to larger paper bags, is by first decorating the bag top with a paper doily. This gives a great frame like area for you to add the butterflies.

doily_gift_bag

Again I layer the butterflies, this time I added a gold butterfly as one of the layers to add a little shine to the bag.

layering_butterfiles_diecuts

To finish off these bags I used a soft pink shade of Nuvo Crystal Drops Gloss in Bubblegum shade to add dimension and gloss to the centre of each butterfly.

butterfly_nuvo_drops

Now come party day, I simply fill the bags with treats, fold the top of the paper bag down and these pretty embellished gift bags are ready to go!

easy_gift_bags

These are a few simple ideas to embellish gift bags for your spring parties. You could take this idea a step further and make matching cards, tags, banners etc using the same Layering Butterfly die set. Wouldn’t that be fun?

smitha_web_smaller

One thought on “DIY Embellished Gift Bags

Leave a Reply

