Mixed Media Canvas Tutorial

A mixed media canvas is easily the most creative piece of art you can create. They might look daunting to a beginner, but really it’s all about adding in different layers and textures and it couldn’t be easier! I will walk you through and show you how I made my mixed media canvas today and you can follow these simple steps to create your one of your own.

find_your_inner_artist

Supplies used:

I start by gathering few different papers- I usually have a little box in which I collect small tags, papers and items that I like to use on a mixed media canvas. Here I pulled out a pink doily, a book page, some tissue paper, a tag and an old library card. I then trimmed everything to what I size I needed using the Tim Holtz Titanium shears and adhered everything onto my canvas.

timholtz-shears

The first layer of texture I added was using the Nuvo Embellishment mousse over the Layered Hexagon and Seamless Circle stencils. This mousse is so creamy and luxurious to use and it dries super fast too! Simply spread the mousse onto the stencil using a palette knife and then peel off the stencil carefully to reveal beautiful designs.

tonic_stencils

nuvo_mousse

I die cut a few Butterflies using the Layered Butterflies Cutting Die Set and then added these onto the canvas. I added a butterfly right onto my mousse, while it was still wet!

butterflies_diecut_tonic

For theΒ final layer of color + texture I used Nuvo Crystal drops Gloss in Ebony Black to freehand doodle onto the canvas. The Nuvo drops are very easy to use and you can draw simple or intricate patterns with these.

nuvo_doodle

To finish off the canvas, I added a few more butterflies, some paper bits and some Nuvo crystal drops around the canvas. Once the Nuvo drops had dried, I added a large jewel and ribbon as a statement piece.

nuvo_black_doodle

And here is what my finished canvas looks like. Not only did I thoroughly enjoyed the creating process, but this canvas makes me smile every time I look at it!

diy_mixed_meida_canvasnuvo_designs

You can add as many layers as you want to your mixed media canvas to make it uniquely yours. It’s all about enjoying the art!

Happy Crafting!

smitha_web_smaller

Leave a Reply

