Love Garland

love-heart-banner2

Hello friends!  I love to decorate the house for each holiday, but I refuse to pay a lot of money for the decorations.  I needed a little something for Valentine’s Day and knew that I could come up with something from my stash! And, sure enough, I did!

Supplies Used for this project:

To begin this project, I created the music pages flowers.  They are super easy and fun to create!  I created my own shimmer spray from the Nuvo Embellishment Mousse to add that extra something to these flowers.

Fill the mini mister up with water and pour the water into a small bowl.  That way you have just enough shimmer spray to fill your mister.  Then add a bit of the Nuvo Embellishment Mousse to the water and stir it until it’s all dissolved.  Pour this back into your mister.

Die cut about 5 to 6 layers of hymnal pages using the die from the Mandala Moments Flower Stamp & Die Set.  I die cut that many at one time and just left them all together.

Punch a hole in the middle of the stack and add the brad.  Once you add the brad, you can start misting your stack and scrunching up the layers.  Do that for all the layers and when it’s all dry, you will have an awesome flower!

Then I created some glitter paper using the Glitter Noir embossing powder.

Take a strip of white cardstock and ink it up all over with an embossing ink pad.  I used a Versamark ink pad.

Sprinkle the Glitter Noir embossing powder all over the paper and heat set it.  Once this is heat set, you may need to add another layer of embossing powder.  Because I used black, I didn’t really need another layer.

Now it is time to die cut the letters I need for my banner.

I found the letters – LOVE – in the Pretoria DuoCaps sets.  Using the Tangerine, die cut the letters.

Then die cut the garland using the Garland Fayre die set.  I only wanted to use the one shape, so I die cut this 4 times.  *** TIP: Don’t throw away the extras!  Keep them with your die set.  You might need them for a fast project another time.

Layer the red and white die cuts together, punch a small hole on each side of the garland, and thread the twine thru.

Adhere the letters to the garland with the Funky Glue Pen.

Now it’s time to make the heart garland that hangs down from the hanger.

Die cut the hearts using the Traditional Heart Layering Basics die – #2 in the set (remember #1 is the smallest).  You need 2 of the same color hearts for each.  I spaced them out about 1/2″ apart.

Leave about 2″ on the top and put one heart upside down, then glue the same color heart over it with the twine going down the middle.  Each strand of twine has 5 different colored hearts in an Ombre-style.

Put everything together onto the hanger using a hot glue gun.

Add the small love sentiment using a label maker.

 

love-heart-banner2

Such a fun project to make with things I had around the house.  I have been hoarding that vintage hangar for a long time!  It was fun to finally put to use, creating a festive and lovely little garland.

debbie-logo-1

 

Leave a Reply

