I Love You Z-Fold Pop Up Valentine-Karen Hasheck

tonic-love-pop-up-1

Want a fun way to say “I Love You” on Valentine’s Day? Today I am sharing how to make an interactive z-fold pop up Valentine with a bouquet of hearts that folds flat for mailing.

Supplies Needed:

tonic-love-pop-up-template-1

Pictured above is the template for creating a z-fold card with pop ups. The base of the card is 5 ½ inches by 11 inches and it is scored at the 2 ¾ and 5 ½ inch lines. The z-fold strip measures 1 ½ inches by 11 inches and is scored at the 5 ½ and at 8 1/4 inches. The two tabs for the inside holding the pop up hearts are ¾ of an inch by 4 ¾ inches and scored at 1 inch on both sides. The two pieces of patterned paper were cut to 2 1/2 inches by 5 ¼ inches.

tonic-love-pop-up-pieces-cut

close-up-dp-ribbon

The first score line of the base card (at 2 ¾”) is folded down with a mountain fold and the second score line (at 5 ½”) is folded up in a valley fold. I found some pretty heart ribbon at Michaels recently, but every other heart on the ribbon was silver. I knew I wanted the primary colors of this card to be kraft, red and gold, so I changed the color of the metallic hearts from silver to gold using Tonic’s gold marker from the Nuvo Supreme Metallics Creative Pen Collection. I glued on the red and kraft patterned paper with the ribbon strips to the left and right sides of the brown kraft card base.

tonic-love-pop-up-i-love-you

The new Mandala Moments Collection at Tonic Studios features high quality cushion mounted stamps with matching dies. I stamped “I Love You” on red cardstock, then lined up the dies holding them in place with temporary tape and ran them through my Tangerine machine to cut them out. I glued the words and three small hearts cut out of the same patterned paper and gold mirror card onto the z fold strip. The strip across the front is folded down in a mountain fold at the 5 ½ inch line and up in a valley fold at the 8 1/4 inch line and attached on both sides of the card base. Here is a picture of the z fold strip and the tabs inside it where the pop up hearts will be attached.

tonic-love-pop-up-tabs-view

I die cut many different sizes of hearts out of red cardstock  and  gold mirror card as well as one out of the patterned paper using Tonic’s Traditional Hearts Layering Dies.  I layered them together and attached some of them to strips of acetate. The mix of hearts was attached to the tabs at various heights forming a beautiful pop up bouquet of hearts. This z-fold card will fold flat for mailing in a large square envelope.

tonic-love-pop-up-closed

I will be giving this fun pop up z-fold card to my love on Valentine’s Day and I think he is going to be thrilled with it.

tonic-love-pop-up-2

tonic-signature

6 thoughts on “I Love You Z-Fold Pop Up Valentine-Karen Hasheck

    • If you don’t go crazy with the pop up elements, it should fit into a large square envelope- maybe 6 x 6? I don’t have a ruler here- but I went a little high with the large heart so I would need a bigger one…

      Like

Leave a Reply

