My New Year’s Eve Table

At our house, we welcome a new year with a fancy dinner.  This year, our kids will be off doing there own thing.  So I invited another couple we have been friends with for over 30 years.  I wanted the table to look great but didn’t want to spend a bunch.  So  I challenged myself to only spend $10 on the table decorations. I decided on these Tonic Studios supplies:

I decided a trip to the dollar store would be a good idea.  Here is what I found……

dollar-store-finds

I already had the bottle of wine and the mirror.  So I spent $6 at the Dollar Store for 3 battery-operated candles, 2 glass vases and 1 black plastic tablecloth. To get started, I decided to alter the battery-operated candles with some glitter.

candles-1

I used the Funky Glue, a brush and Nuvo Pure Sheen Rose Gold Glitter.

candles-2

I used a paint brush to apply the glue to the bottom half of my candle and then sprinkled on the glitter and shook of the excess.

candles-3

While these dried, I got busy with the glass vases.

I used the Funky Glue Pen, paint brush, clean glass vase and Nuvo Radiant Gold Gilding Flakes.

First I applied the glue just around the edge of the vase.  Don’t worry if it’s not a straight line or anything…..that just makes it look even better.

Then using my fingers, I applied the gilding flakes.  Don’t try to brush off the excess until the glue is very dry.

Once the glue was dry, I used a soft brush to brush off any excess gilding flakes.  If there was a spot that didn’t get covered, I just applied more glue and the flakes.

vase

While my candles and vases were drying, I die cut some gold mirror cardstock using the Star Layering Die set  and Build a Wreath Star Bauble die.

Then I printed out a menu for our fancy dinner!

I printed the menu onto some vanilla cardstock.   I am using the Cockle Shell Layering Basics Die Set for all three layers of my menu.

Using the Scotch Removal Tape, I position the die onto my menu.  Then I ran it thru my Tangerine Die Cutting Machine.  I used the 2 larger sizes to die cut the gold mirror cardstock and the black cardstock.

I used the Funky Tape Runner to adhere all my layers together.  Now I have everything ready to decorate and set my fancy table.

menu

Here is my fancy table…..

I used an upside down wine glass to place one of the glitter candles in the middle of the mirror.  I added some pine cone ornaments from my Christmas tree in the vases and scattered the gold stars all over.

finished-table-1

finished-table-2

I got out my mother’s china for this special occasion.   Remember if you don’t use your special stuff…….it never gets used!

I love how this turned out and I think our guests will love this special dinner, too!  I hope you will have a wonderful time celebrating the new year!

debbie-logo-1

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My New Year’s Eve Table

Leave a Reply

