Christmas Village of Gingerbread Houses – Karen Hasheck

karenskreativekards-12-9-038-updated

Merry Christmas everyone! Today I am sharing a set of three gingerbread houses I created with the versatile Gingerbread House Die Set.  In this die set you get 18 dies that allow you to create many different 3D gingerbread houses and you can customize them with the various decorative dies including two gingerbread men and a Christmas tree. The die set is also Verso meaning you can either cut the beautiful intricate designs for the windows, doors and roof in the house or cut them separately.  The boxes can open from the top or the bottom so they are perfect for giving small gifts like gift cards or candy.

Supplies needed:

karenskreativekards-12-9-026-updated

I created a gumdrop candy gingerbread house using pastel colors, glitter and the new Nuvo Jewel Drops. I die cut the base out of pink cardstock and cut the white scalloped sides without all the optional intricate openings. I embossed “siding” on the house using the Simple Stripes Embossing Folder. I die cut a cute little gingerbread man and a Christmas tree and decorated them with glitter drops and the new Fresh Snowfall Glitter Accents.

karenskreativekards-12-9-027-updated

The gumdrop roof and candies on the side of the house were easy to make using the new Nuvo Jewel Drops. These drops dry translucent and much lighter than the other drops in the Nuvo line.  I die cut the roof pieces out of white cardstock and glued them together. I also punched some white circles and die cut a star from the Mini Wreath Decorations Die Set. Then I simply applied the strawberry, lime, periwinkle, sea breeze and orange jewel drops to the roof and candy pieces and while the Jewel Drops were still wet, sprinkled on Nuvo’s white Snow Glow Sparkle Dust fine glitter. The gumdrops look good enough to nibble on.

karenskreativekards-12-9-022-updated

karenskreativekards-12-9-021-updated

My next two gingerbread houses were created in more traditional Christmas colors.  On the red, green and white house, I chose to die cut all the intricate side and roof pieces out of white cardstock and layered them on red and green with decorations die cut from the Mini Wreath Decorations Set. Of course I added red, green and gold Crystal Drops for the perfect finishing touch.  I chose to add the roof top piece on one of the houses and added a red chimney on the red and silver house. The variety of options in this die set is simply amazing! I embossed the roof of the red and silver house with Tonic’s Modern Chevron Embossing Folder. I added some silver snowflakes (using Tonic’s silver mirror card), and snow icicles and snow piles using Fresh Snowfall Glitter Accents.

karenskreativekards-12-9-023-updated

The red and silver house is unique in that I die cut one of the intricate window side dies directly into the red house so we can see into the inside of the house. I added a layer of silver mirror card to the opposite side of the inside to enhance the glow of the tea light. I tried putting the tea light in from the typical bottom opening of the gingerbread house but did not have any success turning it on and getting it to stay upright.

karenskreativekards-12-14-005-updated

karenskreativekards-12-14-006-updated

After checking videos and tips from bloggers in the UK, I tried leaving one half of the roof unglued and weighted the open half of the roof with a piece of chipboard. I attached magnets to the two roof pieces so that the roof stayed down when closed. I clicked on the tea light and set it inside the house, then closed the roof resulting in a glowing lighted gingerbread house.

karenskreativekards-12-9-041-updated

I had so much fun creating a variety of gingerbread houses and the friends who received them as gifts loved the uniqueness of each one. Next I am going to try some houses for other seasons and holidays as the options are endless!

Wishing you and yours a very happy holiday season!

tonic-signature

 

4 thoughts on “Christmas Village of Gingerbread Houses – Karen Hasheck

Leave a Reply

