DIY paper bows for gifts

I am a last minute gift wrapper, but I always make it a point to make my gifts look as pretty and colorful as I can. Big pops of color are my favorite. This year I wanted to create a matching tag and bow from paper and I am going to share how I did that with you below.

gift_wrapping

Supplies you will need:

large_dainty_bow_set

The Large Dainty Bow Die set is an amazing die to have on hand. There are so many options for you to make your paper bows with this die. You can make intricate delicate bows or solid colored simple ones with these dies. I love both styles!

large_dainty_bow_die

Die cut the bows in colors you need. Fold the die cut bow shape into the center to create a 3 D bow shape.

gift_wrapping_diy

Here is a closer look at how each die cut looks after you fold and adhere them into place. You can create one smaller and one large bow. Or you can layer both of these to create a bigger dimensional bow like I did here with the orange one.

paper_bows

You can simply add these gorgeous paper bows onto your gifts and call it done. These bows are really beautiful and make a grand statement.

colorful_bows

But I wanted to create matching gift tags as well, and I will show you I did those. I die cut these ornament shapes from the same colored cardstocks as the bows. I then adhered each ornament onto a small silver mirror card as seen here. To make my tag have the same shape as the ornament, I trimmed off the excess using the Tim Holtz 5 inch snips.

ornament_tag

Make sure you leave a small area uncut so that the card has a spine. And viola! You have a unique handmade gift tag that matches your bow. And you also have a small blank space instead the card to write a message to your recipient.

ornaments_paper

ornament_tags

Add the ornament tag and the bows to your gifts to make a colorful gift wrapped set!

gift_wrapping

Happy Crafting and happy holidays to you all!

smitha_web_smaller

Leave a Reply

