Merry & Bright Christmas Cards

Hello Friends!  It’s time to get serious about making Christmas cards!  So, I decided today that I was going to sit down and make some of the cards that I will send to friends and family this year.

Now one thing you should know about me – I get bored easily and don’t really like to make 40 of the same card.  So, with that in mind, I gathered some supplies and got busy!

merry-bright-card-1

I decided that a 6×6 paper collection was the best way to go for these cards.  I could change the background papers, but since they all come from the same collection, the colors would match.  I also chose a new favorite of mine, the Mixed Edge Rectangle Layering Basics Die set.  It’s easy to choose the rectangle and matching scalloped rectangle for matting.  I also cut the bases – A2 size 4 1/4 x 5 1/2″ – and the patterned paper ( 4 x 51/4″)  so that all I had to do was die cut and stamp!

merry-bright-card-2

Here I am using my Tangerine die cutting machine to cut the scalloped and classic rectangles.

merry-bright-card-3

Using a Versamark pad, I stamped the banner image onto white cardstock and sprinkled on Silver Moonlight Glitter Embossing powder.

***A long time ago, someone gave me this great heat embossing tip:  Wrap a magazine in tinfoil and place it on a clipboard.  That way, the heat from your embossing gun will radiate out and not warp the paper. ***

So I heat embossed the banners and hand cut them out.

merry-bright-card-4

I did the same for the Christmas trees, but I stamped them on Vellum Cardstock.  I cut these trees out and then, using a Funky Glue pen, I glued them onto green patterned cardstock.

merry-bright-card-5

I made sure to apply the glue under spots that I knew I would put some Glitter Drops so the glue wouldn’t show through.

merry-bright-card-6

Now it’s time to start assembling the cards.  I glued together the scalloped and classic rectangles.

merry-bright-card-7

Using 3d foam squares, I adhered the banners and trees into place.

See how the green patterned paper shows thru the vellum?

merry-bright-card-8

I added some Nuvo Ruby Slippers Glitter Drops to the tree once everything was assembled.  Then I set the cards aside to dry.  Remember that Nuvo drops are self-leveling, which makes adding little drops easy!

Here are a couple of my completed cards.  I ended up making15 cards in about an hour!

Once you get everything cut, stamped and die cut, putting the cards together is a breeze.  Plus I really hate paying extra postage for my cards, so keeping them simple is the way to go!

merry-bright-card-final

Thanks for stopping by today!

debbie-logo-1

Tonic Supplies Used:

Other supplies:  Versamark Embossing Pad, Heat Gun, 3d foam squares; Holiday Trimmings 6×6″ paper pad (Penny Black); Kraft & White cardstock; Merry & Bright Clear Stamp set (Simon Says Stamp)

Leave a Reply

