Holly Wreath & Santa Christmas Card – Heidi Blankenship

Hello everyone!  Heidi, here today and I have a beautiful vintage style Christmas card to share with you.  This card is filled with layers, texture and lots of sparkle.

hollywreathsantacardheidiblankenship-1

 

I used the 1383E Rococo Holly Bouquet Die to create the beautiful holly wreath, cutting two wreaths from green cardstock and then inking both of them with peeled paint and gathered twigs distress inks.

I used 419E Craft Tacky Glue 120ml to adhere the two die cuts.  I offset and layered the wreaths for a fuller looking wreath.

Next I used the NUVO 203N Glue Pen Medium and applied glue to both of the wreaths, adding NUVO 717N Pure Sheen Glitter – Green Meadow to the wreath.

To finish the wreath I added NUVO 752N Glitter Drops – Ruby Slippers to look like little holly berries.

While I was waiting for the crystal drops to dry on the wreath, I used the 1454E Circle Layering Basic Die Set to cut out a piece of Graphic 45 paper with an image of Santa Claus.

Once the crystal drops were dry, I adhered the circle die cut behind the wreath.

hollywreathsantacardheidiblankenship-2

Since I knew the top half of my card was going to be ivory I wanted to add some something to fill in the space, but I didn’t want it to be too busy and take anything away from the wreath.  So I die cut another wreath and then I cut the wreath in to four pieces.  I applied NUVO  203N Glue Pen Medium to the backside of the die cut and set aside to dry.

hollywreathsantacardheidiblankenship-3

I used my 160E Tim Holtz 8.5 inch Trimmer to cut a piece ivory cardstock to a 5-1/4 x 5-1/4 in. square.  Then I cut a piece of Graphic 45 St. Nicholas pattern paper to 5-1/4 x 3 in. and used the 422E Funky Tape Runner to adhere the two pieces together with the pattern paper on the bottom half.

Next I inked the edges with antique linen and vintage photo distress inks.  I placed a piece of blue painters tape on the top edge of the pattern paper.  I placed the four pieces from the holly wreath on top of the ivory cardstock.  If 203N Glue Pen Medium is applied to paper and left to dry it will be slightly tacky and hold the holly pieces in place, allowing the holly pieces will act as a mask.  I used a pallet knife to apply NUVO 953N Glimmer Paste – Moonstone on to the top half of the card.

hollywreathsantacardheidiblankenship-4

I used a tweezers to lift and remove the holly piece.  Instead of tossing the holly pieces I set them aside to dry and I can use them on another project.  Carefully remove the painters tape.  I have found if you pull the tape back over on itself it is easier to remove and there is less of a chance to rip the paper.

hollywreathsantacardheidiblankenship-5

Here is a close up of the glimmer paste.  Can you see the holly pattern?  This is a great way to use die cuts with glimmer paste and add some sparkle and texture to your projects.

hollywreathsantacardheidiblankenship-6

Here is a close up of the wreath with the Santa image.  To finish off the card I added some vintage crochet trim, a seam binding bow, vintage gold thread and a couple of jingle bells.

hollywreathsantacardheidiblankenship-7

I also added a sentiment from the same Graphic 45 paper collection to the bottom of the card and added a layer of red cardstock.  Then everything was adhered to a 5-1/2 x 5-1/2 in. square top folding red card base.

I hope you enjoyed today’s card share and tutorial.  Thanks so much for stopping by the Tonic blog today!

Happy Holidays!

heidi logo 2

Dies

1383E Rococo Holly Bouquet Die
1454E Circle Layering Basic Die Set
NUVO
717N Pure Sheen Glitter – Green Meadow
752N Glitter Drops – Ruby Slippers
953N Glimmer Paste – Moonstone
203N Glue Pen Medium
Tonic Adhesive
422E Funky Tape Runner
419E Craft Tacky Glue 120ml
Tools
160E Tim Holtz 8.5 inch Trimmer
138E Tangerine Die Cutting & Embossing Machine

Leave a Reply

