Comforting Hugs – Heidi Blankenship

comfortinghugsheidiblankenship112016-1

When I first saw the tangled posies strip die I thought it would be fun to add some stitching to the pinhole details.  Now I will admit this took a bit longer than I thought it would but I think the results are worth the extra effort.

comfortinghugsheidiblankenship112016-3

To start I used the tangled posies strip die along with kraft cardstock to die cut the decorative strip.

Next, I used white thread and a needle to hand stitch all of the detail.  It was really easy to sew and I am not a sewer.  I just followed the pattern on the die cut.

comfortinghugsheidiblankenship112016-4

Here is a close up of the die cut and the detailed stitching.

comfortinghugsheidiblankenship112016-2

Next, I added a little more detail to the pattern paper.  I used the handwritten floral greetings stamp set and versamark ink to stamp the images in the upper and lower corners of the paper.  I used Nuvo embossing powder – glacier white along with a heat tool to melt and heat set the powder.

comfortinghugsheidiblankenship112016-5

Here is a close up of the stamping detail at the bottom of the card.

comfortinghugsheidiblankenship112016-6

I used the Tim Holtz 8″ guillotine/trimmer for all of the paper cutting and I used the tangerine machine for all of the die cutting.  To assemble the card I used craft tacky glue and added the layers of pattern paper to the 5 x 5 white top folding card base.

Then I added foam squares to the back of the decorative strip die cut and placed that on the card front.  To finish off the card I added Nuvo crystal drops – ivory shell to the flower centers on the die cut.  I also added Nuvo glitter drops – golden sunset to the flowers centers on the stamped images and a few sequins.

This card came together pretty quickly.  For a quicker version, you can use a white gel pen or fine tip black marker to create faux sewing.  The possibilities are endless!

Happy Crafting!

heidi logo 2

Tonic Supplies
1224E Tangled Posies Strip Die Set
Nuvo 602N Embossing Powder – Glacier White
Nuvo 757N Glitter Drops – Golden Sunset
Nuvo 675N Crystal Drops – Ivory Shell
419E Craft Tacky Glue 120ml
160E Tim Holtz 8″ Guillotine/Trimmer
174E Tangerine Machine and Bag Set

Other Supplies
Simon Says Stamp Handwritten Floral Greetings Stamp Set
My Mind’s Eye Fancy That 6 x 6 Paper Pad
Cardstock – White, Kraft
Cartwright Sequins and Beads 6mm Mocha Satin, 5mm Chantilly Creme
VersaMark Ink
Foam Squares
Needle
White Thread
Heat Tool

Leave a Reply

