Give Thanks Burlap Canvas – Heidi Blankenship

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-1

Give thanks is such a simple statement but it can have so many different meanings to each of us.  Big or small, we should always remember the things we are thankful for, but especially on Thanksgiving.  I thought this give thanks canvas would be a perfect DIY home decor piece for a side table.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-2

To start, I used the Nuvo large glue pen to apply adhesive to the leaves.  Then I sprinkled on some of the Nuvo pure sheen glitter spiced aprioct and set the leaves aside to dry.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-3

Next, I used the Nuvo large glue pen again and applied the adhesive to the berries.  Then I sprinkled on some of the Nuvo pure sheen glitter light gold and set the berries aside to dry.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-4

While I was waiting for the leaves and berries to dry, I started to prep the burlap canvas.  I inked the outside edges of the canvas with a black ink pad.  Then, I used the Nuvo large glue pen to apply adhesive around the top edges of the canvas.  Next, I applied Nuvo Gilding Flakes 850N Radiant Gold on top of the adhesive.  I set the canvas aside to let the ink and adhesive dry. Once everything was dry on the canvas I used a sponge with a scrubbie edge to remove the excess gilding flakes and put them back in the container.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-5

I used both the duocap initials pretoria A-N die set and  duocap initials pretoria O-Z die set to die cut all of the letters.  I die cut the letters twice using black cardstock and pattern paper.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-6

Here is a close up of the letters.  I really like both of these die sets because they can be used a few different ways.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-7

I used craft tacky glue to adhere the letters to the burlap canvas.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-9

Next, I added some metallic copper ribbon to the top corner and along the bottom of the canvas.  Then, I used hot glue to adhere the leaves and berries creating a pretty cluster in the top and bottom corners.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-11

Here is a close up of the bottom corner.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-10

I really like how the canvas came together with just a few dies cuts and some glitter.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-8

For a finishing touch I added some Nuvo glitter drops golden sunset by the clusters of leaves and on the letters.

givethankscanvasheidiblankenship112016-12

The finished canvas is 5 x 7.

Thank you so much for stopping by today and I wish you all a very Happy Thanksgiving!

heidi logo 2

Tonic Supplies
608E DuoCap Initials Pretoria A-N die set
609E DuoCap Initials Pretoria O-Z die set
Nuvo Gilding Flakes 850N Radiant Gold
Nuvo Pure Sheen Glitter 727N Spiced Aprioct (leaves)
Nuvo Pure Sheen Glitter 707N Light Gold (berries)
Nuvo Glitter Drops 757N Golden Sunset
419E Craft Tacky Glue 120ml
160E Tim Holtz 8″ Guillotine/Trimmer
107E Tim Holtz Titanium Shear 9.5″
147E Tangerine Machine and Bag Set
Nuvo 204N Large Glue Pen

Other Supplies
5 x 7 Burlap Canvas
Tuxedo Black Ink
Black Cardstock
Echo Park – I love family 6 x 6 pattern paper
May Arts Metallic Copper Ribbon
Silk Leaves
Berries
Hot Glue

Leave a Reply

