Thanksgiving Place Cards – Heidi Blankenship

thanksgivingplacecardheidiblankenshop112016-1

Thanksgiving is just a couple of days away and I wanted to create some quick and easy place cards for a nice decorative touch.  It’s all the little details that pull together to create a beautiful table scape.

thanksgivingplacecardheidiblankenshop112016-2

To start, I used the Nuvo large glue pen and I added adhesive to the leaves.  Next, I sprinkled some of the Nuvo pure sheen glitter spiced apricot on to the leaves.  Then, I set them aside to dry.  Once the leaves were dry, I brushed off the excess glitter and poured it back into the bottle.  I wasn’t sure which leaves I wanted to use when I started my projects, so I added the glitter to a couple different kinds.  In the end, however, I only ended up using the larger leaf.

thanksgivingplacecardheidiblankenshop112016-3

Next, I rubbed some of the Nuvo cosmic brown embellishment mousse on a vintage wooden spool.  The mousse picked up some of the details on the spool.  Then I added a small piece of burlap around the middle of the spool.  I also tied a piece of metallic copper ribbon around the spool and frayed the edges.

thanksgivingplacecardheidiblankenshop112016-4

For the names on the place card I typed all of the letters except for the first letter of the name.  For the first letter I am using a die cut.  I printed out the names on to a piece of ivory cardstock and then I used the 1448E cockle shell layering basics die set to cut the label shape.  I taped the die in place to make sure it wouldn’t shift while die cutting using the 147E Tangerine machine and bag set.

thanksgivingplacecardheidiblankenshop112016-5

Here is a close up of the label with the tag.  I inked the edges of the label with vintage photo distress ink.  To create the letter E, I used the 608E duocap initials pretoria A-N die set and black cardstock.  I added some foam squares to the back of the E for some added dimension.

thanksgivingplacecardheidiblankenshop112016-6

Once I had all of my pieces together, it was time to assemble the place card.  I used hot glue to add the leaves and the label.  I added some hot glue to the stems and pushed them down into the hole in the spool.  I also added a couple acorn stickers for little embellishments.

thanksgivingplacecardheidiblankenshop112016-7

Here is a close up of one of the acorn stickers.

thanksgivingplacecardheidiblankenshop112016-8

The place cards are quick and easy to make and would be the perfect personal touch on the dinning room table.

Wishing you all a very Happy Thanksgiving!

heidi logo 2

Tonic Supplies
1448E Cockle Shell Layering Basics die set
608E DuoCap Initials Pretoria A-N die set
Nuvo Pure Sheen Glitter 727N Spiced Apricot
Nuvo Embellishment Mousse 810N Cosmic Brown
419E Craft Tacky Glue 120ml
160E Tim Holtz 8″ Guillotine/Trimmer
107E Tim Holtz Titanium Shear 9.5″
147E Tangerine Machine and Bag Set
Nuvo 204N Large Glue Pen

Other Supplies
Vintage Wood Spool
Burlap
May Arts Metallic Copper Ribbon
Silk Leaves
Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Vintage Photo
Cardstock Ivory, Black
Little B Acorn Stickers

Leave a Reply

