Thanksgiving Pumpkin

It’s almost time for Thanksgiving and for me that means sending out a few cards to those loved ones who won’t be able to join the family for our big feast.  When I was going through my Tonic dies, I didn’t really have one perfect die to create my card, so I put my thinking cap on and got busy.  Using Mixed Edge Oval Layering Basics Die Set and a little imagination, I created a pumpkin for this “Give Thanks” card.

give-thanks-main

To begin, I die cut 3 small ovals from orange cardstock using the Mixed Edge Oval Layering Basics Die set and sponged the edges with a matching orange die ink.

give-thanks-card-1

Using the Nuvo Medium Glue Pen, I adhered two of the ovals together.

give-thanks-card-2

Then I added my last oval on top of the two to create the “pumpkin”.  I printed off the sentiment using my printer and cut it out using my Tim Holtz – 8″ Comfort Guillotine Trimmer and used my scissors to cut the ends into a banner.  The Nuvo Glue pen works perfectly for small strips of paper, too!

give-thanks-card-3

My finished card measures 4 1/4 x 5 1/2″.  That means I cut the brown cardstock to 4 1/4 x 11″ and fold it in half to create the base.  Then I cut the olive green cardstock to 4 x 5 1/4″ and the vanilla cardstock to 3 3/4 x 5″.  I used the A4 Embossing Folder – Martha on the vanilla layer before I glued it all down to my card.  I die cut some olive cardstock using the smallest die in the Fanciful Flourish Die set.  I adhered the flourish down first.  Then to create the stem on my pumpkin, I added some Nuvo Dark Walnut Gloss Crystal Drops.  Since the Nuvo drops are self leveling, I waited until the card was finished to add this detail.

give-thanks-4

Here is another look at my completed card.

give-thanks-main

I think my far-away family and friends will really love this card.  Don’t you?  Plus it is super, quick and easy to create with supplies that are probably in your craft room right now.

Thanks for stopping by today and have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Supplies Used:

 

debbie-logo-1

 

Leave a Reply

