Fairy Wishes – Terri Kolte

faeiries1

I love to make banners. Don’t be fooled into thinking they’re only for holidays- banners are a fun way to decorate. As soon as I saw the sweet Fairy Wishes illustrated paper pack I thought it had everything a little girl could want to make her bedroom a magical place!

faeiries2

The finished artwork was perfect for me, as I would NEVER consider myself an artist with pen and paper. No way, no how, but…with the darling little fairies already colored in… how could I go wrong? Put away your scissors because the dies from the Fairy Reflections collection make fast work of cutting out each individual fairy. What a time saver that was!

faeries7

The individual bunting flags needed a little accent so I selected one of the floral motifs from the Thinking Of You collection to cut from a heavy watercolor paper. I actually use watercolor paper quite often when I want to die cut something lacy and delicate because it’s really sturdy- much more so than your regular card stock. Keep some in your arsenal!

faeries6

Nuvo Crystal Drops in Dandelion Yellow made the perfect domed flower center for the daisies. I didn’t like that the one flower on top didn’t have a center so I stuck a piece of low-tack tape to the back side of the die cut before adding the Nuvo drop. Once the drop dried I was able to remove that piece of tape because the flower center was now firmly attached to the watercolor paper.

faeries4

The fairy images were layered with small pieces of chipboard to give them some dimension- they kind of look like they’re dancing off the bunting flags! Layering gives a nice shadow effect.faeries10

To tie the banner together I used crinkled seam binding that I dyed in soft shades of pink and green. If you feel like you can’t tie a beautiful bow, then you should definitely try using seam binding! Since it’s crinkly and shimmery, every bow looks absolutely perfect in it’s imperfection. I fell in love with seam binding years ago for this very reason. Once the pieces were tied together the only thing left to do was to add some crystals to the bottom point of each triangle with some bakers twine….

faeries13

Voilá… a banner fit for a sweet little fairy!

terri logo

2 thoughts on “Fairy Wishes – Terri Kolte

Leave a Reply

