Entwining Trellis – Kathleen Sanders

Hello, Kathleen here today with a sample made using the Entwining Trellis dies.  The beautiful bases and multiple shapes and sizes of floral dies provide endless possibilities, especially for those of us who enjoy making  dimensional paper flowers.

image

I have included a couple of extra photos to help explain my design process.

image

I started with one white and one kraft base cut from the Bellus Buttercup die set which I layered and offset ever so slightly to give a shadowed dimensional effect.  Instead of layering the flowers over their corresponding bases on the die, I envisioned a cascade pattern, so I added pieces cut from the Frond Finesse die set, cut from white card stock and colored with Nuvo marker, to provide flow to the layout.  I always prefer to use white card stock and hand color it if possible. I feel it gives the piece a little more character. (and of course I can never do anything the easy way!)

image

All of the flowers were created with the various Entwining trellis die sets.  The Yellow and blue flowers were made using the Bellus Buttercup set. The violet flowers were made using the Radiant Roselily set, and the deep magenta flowers were made with the Plush Peony set. The smallest flower from the Delicate Daisy set was cut and rolled  ” quilling” style to create the stamens in the yellow flowers. And did I mention how much I love the Funky glue pen for flower assembly!

I also used the Nuvo marker to dye my seam binding for the matching bow.  For the butterfly, I wanted the scale of the smallest Layering butterfly, but the detail of the Laura butterfly, so I dissected and transferred the body and antennas. And what’s a butterfly without some bling? So naturally she got some glitter in 710N Deep pink and 721N ice white.

image

The flowers were then added to the base in three groupings of various colors and sizes. I love those petite ones! To balance the layout, I added the sentiment from 1166E With Sympathy strip die set. Then to put on the finishing touches, some of the flowers were tipped with gesso,  and sequins and tiny dots of 651N gloss white crystal drops were placed around the flowers.

I hope you enjoyed this project.

Thanks so much for visiting!

 

Tonic Studios products

Dies:  767 Entwining trellis Bellus Buttercup, 769E Entwining trellis Plush Peony, 770E Entwining trellis Radiant Roselily, 768 Entwining trellis Delicate Daisy, 530E Layering butterflies, 1041E Laura butterfly, 494E Frond Finesse, 1166E With Sympathy strip die & stamp set

Nuvo: 651N Nuvo drops gloss white, 710N glitter deep pink, 721N glitter Ice white,         Nuvo pens 405, 413, 437

Adhesive: Funky glue pen

Tools: Tangerine Die Cutting Machine, 550E US Decoupage scissors, 266E Floral crafters tool set

kathleen

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

