Tie One On Bridal Shower Gift Bag – Karen Hasheck

karenskreativekards scrapyland 010

The challenge this week at Scrapy Land is “Tie One On” or use a bow in the projects we link up. I recently purchased Tonic Studio’s Small Dainty Bow Set from Create and Craft USA and knew they would be perfect for a project for this challenge. I am designing some 3D projects with my Tonic Studio dies for an upcoming class and decided to make a bridal shower gift bag. Years ago I was taught how to take an ordinary 9 x 12 mailing envelope and turn it into a handmade gift bag with some scoring and trimming.

It is easy to do- check out this photo for the basics:

83193-karenskreativekards2bscrapyland2b013

To make this easy gift bag, cut off the top flap, score at 1 inch on both sides and the bottom, fold out the sides and the bottom and then fold under the bottom flaps. The first picture above shows the sides of the gift bag when standing up. I die cut Tonic Studio’s beautiful Silhouette Scene Bride and attached her to a strip of two sided tape and added Tonic Nuvo Radiant Gold Gilding Flakes. I die cut Tonic’s Simply Screens Moroccan Mosaic out of gold for the handle and attached it to the bag with strong two sided tape and black brads. I sprayed some bridal flowers with gold glitter dust and added Tonic Nuvo Black Crystal Drops before attaching them to the gift bag.

ccda9-karenskreativekards2bscrapyland2b007

Of course the highlight of the bridal gift bag is the gorgeous double layer bow created with Tonic Studio’s Small Dainty Bow Set and gold and black thin cardstock. I cut each bow twice, layering the gold on the black. I did the same for the strip the bow is attached to. I added a couple more drops of Tonic Nuvo’s Black Crystal Drops to each corner of the bottom bow. I love how these drops are self leveling and form perfect pearl drops each time without any annoying tags or points!

I am entering this project in the “Tie One On” challenge at Scrapy Land.Β ( Of course, I used Tonic Studio’s dies). I am also entering this project in the Anything Goes challenge at Jo’s Scrap Shack.

karen logo 2
Leave a Reply

